Bloodline

For the times when I’m feeling in a beauty funk, nothing makes me feel more chic than and classic red lip.

Bloodline_01.png
Anastasia Beverly Hills Liquid Lipstick “Bloodline”

It is a look that has stood the test of time; Marilyn Monroe made it iconic in the 1950s and ever since it has been considered one of the most timeless lip colours.

I am forever on the hunt for a new and improved colour/formula/finish when it comes to red lipsticks.  On a recent holiday in the United States, amongst the more-than-I-care-to-admit items I purchased was an Anastasia Beverly Hills Liquid Lipstick.  Around the time (nearly 12 months ago) ABH was one of the leading liquid lipstick brands so it was a bit of a novelty to be trying them out, given that they are not easily accessible here.

Being overwhelmed with the colour selection, I went with the one shade that will make or break.  Red.  My theory is that to test the quality of a lipstick, it comes down to the opacity, colour and wear of a red shade.

Bloodline_03
Anastasia Beverly Hills Liquid Lipstick “Bloodline”

I am pleased to say that this product excelled on all counts:  application was opaque and smooth. The colour hardly needed to be built up.  While it felt dry like a liquid lipstick, it did not completely dry out my lips like some do.  And the wear was exceptional!  Only one re-application was required after lunch, and that lasted me the entire day (12 hours of wear).

I will absolutely be adding more of these ABH lipsticks to my collection… If only it didn’t cost my first born child to ship them to Australia!

Bloodline_02
Anastasia Beverly Hills Liquid Lipstick “Bloodline”
6 thoughts on “Bloodline

Leave a Reply

