Review: Models Prefer Paw Paw

I have never been an adopter of lip balm/paw paw type products.  Don’t get me wrong, I like to use them (especially when wearing a matte lipstick), but I often forget to apply them throughout the day.  I’m usually focused on taming my oily face and reapplying lipstick/blush/eyeliner to squeeze in lip balm as well.  I do often lull myself into a false sense of use when I see a gorgeous lip balm-type product in store though.

Models Prefer Paw Paw in “Peach”

So upon browsing the shelves of Priceline, I did a double take when I saw this gorgeous tube packaging of the Models Prefer Paw Paw.  I picked up “Peach” because (a) I liked the rose gold packaging the best, and (b) because I thought it would be an inoffensive taste (compared to the likes of Cinnamon).

I have been pleasantly surprised at how much I like this product.  It it quite a gelatenous texture (very reminiscent of the Lucas’ Paw Paw Ointment – a massive cult product in Australia).  However the taste (no, this is not a food blog) is very subtle; you get a hint of peach, rather than what can sometimes taste like a dose of chemicals.

There has been quite a lot of bad press lately about Paw Paw ointments and how much actual paw paw they contain (hint; very little).  The Models Prefer Paw Paw is claimed to be 100% natural, with no parabens, sulphates or petrochemicals.

While this ointment is very light and quickly absorbed, the downside to that is that it does not last all that long and frequently re-application is necessary.  And then we are back at the ongoing battle with lip balms!

For dry winter lips, or cracked cuticles, this tube is a steal at $5.99 and a pleasant surprise!

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Models Prefer Paw Paw

  1. Very informative review Lisa, and an interesting comment on the packaging, I’m always drawn in by packaging (and ingredients lately). I am loving the blog and have saved it in on my favourites board : ) You have put so much work into each of your posts : details, photos and links! all fabulous, well done!! xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

